Let me take a step back-why I opened a shop….

Let me take a step back and explain to you why I opened a shop in the first place.  I had learned to wire wrap and create jewellery through a part time continuing education community college course about 4 1/2 years ago, and throughly enjoyed it.  There were a couple of people in the course who were genuinely interested in running a business, but most, like me, were there out of pure interest and just wanted to create something beautiful to wear.

Since taking the course I acquired a lot of supplies, namely wire and beads, and have made a few pieces here and there, mostly for friends and family.  Selling pieces was still not my main objective as:

  1.  I still felt I had a lot to learn about wire wrapping and I still wasn’t confident about my skills
  2. I hated pricing things and taking too much money from friends or strangers.  You have to be aggressive these days to sell.  I was also apprehensive about selling to strangers.  What if they complained?

So what changed my mind?  This year a co-worker who works on my floor had acquired an interest in beading.  Her beading was very basic and her creations were from cheap materials (mostly glass beads from China).  However, she was passionate about what she was doing and was selling to everyone on the floor and also to people who she commuted to work.  I asked myself, “how was she able to do this”?  For example, she charged $5.00 for a bookmark that I knew only cost her $1.00 to make and 5 minutes to put together.  The answer was simple:  she wasn’t afraid to put her work out there.  Since she wasn’t afraid why should I be?

However, on some level, I didn’t want to be like her and hound my fellow coworkers to buy my stuff-although a couple did when I did bring my jewellery in to show them.  I wanted something I could have to myself -away from work-if that made any sense.  So “Jewellery by Citygirl” was born.

Now I have to think like a small business woman and learn new skills.  It seems daunting but exciting too.  I’ll try to scope out business plans in my next few postings.

About citygirl328

I'm an average woman living an urban life in a big city. I need a creative outlet and something to supplement my drive. This is my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let me take a step back-why I opened a shop….

  1. zawnbo says:

    I love, love, LOVE the daisy necklace in your shop. Adding it to my birthday wish list 🙂

    Etsy makes us all crazy. we might as well admit it.

Leave a Reply

