Why Etsy?

So why did I come to Etsy?  I first heard of Etsy about four years ago when members of a beauty blog used to rave about it on their forum.  Some of the members over there even had their own shops on Etsy.  I would visit their shops and admire their creativity and style.  I even started to shop there myself as I always liked handcrafted items and want to support Artists in general. 

Then I got crafty myself and started to create items although I never had the courage to sell them.  Well, as you have read from my previous posts I finally got the courage to sell online myself but wasn’t sure if Etsy was the right “site” for my stuff. 

I did a little research and found that there were other competing sites such as:

  • Artfire
  • Ebay
  • Amazon marketplace

to name a few.  Artfire, I didn’t know anything about and didn’t like their monthly fees.  Ebay could be dicey, as fees are high and bids tend to be low, and Amazon didn’t seem to be “Artsy” enough.  So I thought it would be best to stick with what I was most familiar with -“Etsy”.

Indeed the competition is going to be tough.  Some quick stats from Etsy’s July 2010 Weather report:

  • 1,988,188 new items were listed in the month, 9.8% higher than June’s 1,811,258.
  • 260,267 new members joined the Etsy community in the month, up 27,100, or 11.6%, from June.
  • 736,602,776 page views were recorded on the site in July
  • With at least 260,000 new members and potential shops joining each month, I have a lot to do to stand out from the crowd and establish myself.

    I’ll talk about that more in my next few posts.

    About citygirl328

    I'm an average woman living an urban life in a big city. I need a creative outlet and something to supplement my drive. This is my journey.
    This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

    One Response to Why Etsy?

    1. zawnbo says:

      I opened an Artfire shop around the same time I opened an Etsy shop. Two months later, I don’t have a single sale. I have, however, had all kinds of weird, random bugs with my shop. One time the same item was listed seven times. I’m probably canceling with them after this month.

    Leave a Reply

    