Business Plan? What Business Plan?

I started my Etsy shop on impulse, as you may have already guessed from my very first post.  It wasn’t carefully thought out or planned in any way.  I started it because I genuinely liked creating jewelry and had gotten great feedback from friends.  It was a colleague at work who was overcharging coworkers for her beading that sent me over the edge to sell my work.

Now that I’ve opened my shop and have gotten know other serious full-time sellers on Etsy I’ve realized that crafting and being an artist is not only a labor of love it’s a serious business as well.  There are so many of us vying for attention it’s so easy to get lost in the shuffle.

So the advice to anyone who wants to make a full-time living out of Etsy is to write a business plan.  The first step is to ask yourself:  am I making a product or selling a product people want to buy?  Who is my ideal customer and what makes them buy a product.

My ideal customer is what I’m struggling with.  Am I targeting “hip” young women who want something “funky”?  Or is my customer the more “timeless” one who likes jewelry that never goes out of fashion such as the Victorian or Vintage buyers.  I think it is leaning more towards the women who like the vintage look so far.  But then I shouldn’t be so hasty in categorizing myself yet.  I have to give it more thought.

About citygirl328

I'm an average woman living an urban life in a big city. I need a creative outlet and something to supplement my drive. This is my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Business Plan? What Business Plan?

  1. Do both. I think there’s totally a way for you to mix and match both trendy and vintage type jewelery. Since trendy jewelry is vintage jewelry nowadays why not combine them together with funky medallions, lots of pearts and antique-inspired lockets.

    • citygirl328 says:

      Thanks for the feedback. Mix and match and advice about pendents. I never thought to sell myself as a trendy vintage jeweller. That’s something I have to work on.

  2. Beth says:

    Wow! A business plan! I never thought of that! I don’t even know how to make one. I just started selling on etsy and made whatever made me happy. I even tried to please my husband for a while but found out that pleasing myself came way first!
    Good luck with your venture!

Leave a Reply

