The Etsy Community

Now that my shop was open, I wondered what to do next.  The next logical step was to start promoting it.  But how?  I thought it would be a good idea to get to know my fellow sellers at Etsy and see what they were doing through the forums–It was the best thing I ever did.

The Etsy community is wonderful.  You don’t get the sense that the owners of Etsy are watching you and shamelessly trying to promote themselves.  They take a more laid back approach and let the community on the forums run themselves.

The forum sections themselves are nicely sectioned off into: Announcements, Site Help, Business Topics, International, Ideas, Bugs , CPSI (Consumer Protection Safety Act) critiques, techniques & Materials, Team Events, Promotions, and Etc.

The sellers on the forum are welcoming to all, provide valuable insights into running and promoting an online business, and are great at networking. 

I was so surprised and delighted to find that everyone there has welcomed me with open arms and have even helped me promote my site through an introduction to my shop in the Oddist’s blog:  http://etcetcreadallaboutit.blogspot.com/search?updated-max=2010-08-05T13%3A38%3A00-07%3A00&max-results=7

and a treasury made by Team Discovery, an Etsy team formed to help promote and nurture new shops:http://www.etsy.com/treasury/4c73d7506aa68eef913322ce/plum-passion?sort=hotness&order=desc&page=2#comments

The community created has been a wonderful experience to date.  I’m learning a lot from my fellow sellers and will keep coming back for their insight and support.

About citygirl328

I'm an average woman living an urban life in a big city. I need a creative outlet and something to supplement my drive. This is my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Etsy Community

  1. Stephanie says:

    🙂

    Yay ect!

    I almost never wander upstairs to the more serious forums but I bet people are nice there too

Leave a Reply

